John Trigg Ester Library FY2024 Annual Meeting Minutes

October 13, 2024 Clausen Cabin, 3629 Main Street, Ester, Alaska

Call to Order by President Mindy Gallagher at 4:09



<u>Attendees</u>: Mindy Gallagher, Syrilyn Tong, Kristin Haney, Kathy Nava, Cat Stephenson, Gary Pohl, Sarah Albers, Bianca Blickenstaff, Devta Khalsa, Ritchie Musick, Darwin Cameron, and Karyn Holder. These attendees and their contact information were confirmed via a sign-up sheet passed out by Gary Pohl. See Attachment 1.

Annual Presentation and Report to the Membership

Mindy commenced the meeting with background information about the John Trigg Ester Library followed by a "JTEL Annual Meeting, October 13, 2024" PowerPoint presentation. This was a very informative and concise review of the many things that have been happening at the Ester Library and is incorporated into these minutes as Attachment 2. This presentation contains a considerable amount of information and therefore is included as an attachment to better summarize the overall contents and context of the annual report, rather than presenting a voluminous text summary within these minutes.

Voting for the FY2025 Board

After the Annual Presentation, a slate of candidates was presented for the election of the FY2025 Board of Directors. Incumbents Mindy Gallagher and Gary Pohl had previously indicated that after many years serving on the Board that they would not be running for re-election. Those present thanked Mindy and Gary for their service over the years.

Syrilyn Tong explained that the Board must be comprised of a minimum of seven Directors to maintain our 501(c)3 non-profit entity status with the state of Alaska. She further stated that while the Board did not currently have any "alternate" Directors, it would be possible, and beneficial to elect two alternate Board members to serve if a quorum of Directors was needed, and to fill in for Directors that were not able to attend. Alternate Directors would be able to vote in these cases.

Syrilyn also explained and clarified that this election by the membership was to elect Board "Directors" only, and that the election of the four officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) would be made by the incoming Board at the newly elected Board of Directors meeting to be held immediately after the adjournment of the Annual Meeting.

The following incumbents agreed to continue serving on the Board as either their terms were not yet expired, or they wished to continue serving on the Board:

- Vice-President, incumbent Kristin Haney
- Treasurer, incumbent Syrilyn Tong
- Director, Catherine Stephenson
- Director, Kathy Nava
- Director, Sarah Albers

Syrilyn Tong also clarified that Kathy Nava's term was expiring and would need to be voted in, and Kristin Haney, Sarah Albers, Catherine Stephenson and Syrilyn Tong had terms that would continue.

The following people were interested in serving on the Board, and were added to the slate of candidates:

- Darwin Cameron
- Bianca Bickerstaff
- Devta Khalsa (as an Alternate)
- Nessa Parker (as an Alternate)¹

After a short discussion, all members present unanimously voted by acclamation to approve the slate of candidates as follows:

- Director, Kristin Haney
- Director, Syrilyn Tong
- Director, Catherine Stephenson
- Director, Kathy Nava
- Director, Sarah Albers
- Director, Darwin Cameron
- Director, Bianca Bickerstaff
- Alternate, Devta Khalsa
- Alternate, Nessa Parker

After the conclusion of the election of the FY25 Board of Directors, the meeting was adjourned at 5:25 pm.

Respectfully submitted by:

Gary H. Pohl, Outgoing Secretary

Attachments:

- 1 List of Attendees with Contact Information
- 2 PowerPoint Presentation (in pdf format) "JTEL Annual Meeting, October 13, 2024"

¹ Note: Nessa Parker was not present at the meeting but had requested that her name be added for the slate of Directors in the Alternate position. This was verified by Syrilyn Tong.